Stephens Named 2016 Teaching Academy Fellow

Congratulations to Catherine Stephens, MERIT’s Senior Education Technology Consultant as she joins the UW-Madison Teaching Academy as a Fellow this Spring.

The UW–Madison Teaching Academy is composed of faculty, instructional staff, and graduate students who have been recognized by their peers for sustained, demonstrated teaching excellence. The Academy works to promote, recognize, and support teaching and learning excellence in the UW–Madison community.

Fellows have a minimum of three years of experience as an educator at UW-Madison and have been formally recognized by their peers as having: demonstrated teaching excellence; demonstrated substantial service or leadership in education at UW-Madison; and expressed a willingness to be active participants in Teaching Academy events and governance.

Catherine Stephens is described as an innovator, a true “ideas person” who brings common sense teaching practice, and uncommon enthusiasm for new ideas in teaching and learning. She offers instructional design consulting, pedagogical support, and professional development programs to SoE faculty and staff.  In her work, she guides and facilitates the process of selecting and adopting new tools for teaching and learning.

Catherine shares her expertise through MERIT’s instructional services and provides co-teaching opportunities in the School of Education. Special areas of focus include learning with story, storyboards and concept mapping, active learning, social presence, inclusive teaching practices, communities of engagement, and teaching and learning in Maker spaces. This past year, she co-taught a graduate course with Professor Kurt Squire titled “Integrating Digital Media into Research and Teaching”. Catherine co-designed the syllabus, facilitated class sessions, and coordinated class speakers and guests. With a MA in Education, and background in English teaching, writing, and music, she brings creative problem solving, open inquiry, and facilitation skills to her work in the School of Education and the broader UW-Madison campus.

The School of Education’s Linn Posey-Maddox, Elaina Meier, Rosemary Russ, Jennifer Seelig, and Catherine Stephens were among those from across Campus being recognized by UW-Madison’s Teaching Academy during a ceremony on Wednesday evening, April 27 (read more).