About Us

Who We Are

MERIT (Media, Education Resources, and Information Technology) offers information, instruction, and technology services to the UW-Madison School of Education and community partners.  Meet our MERIT team!

Our Mission

MERIT connects people, information, and technology in an inclusive and engaged environment. Through reliable and proactive service, we empower the UW-Madison School of Education community to achieve innovation and excellence in teaching, learning, and research throughout the world.

Our Vision

MERIT leads the School of Education community in its efforts to discover, access, contextualize, design, protect, and support information and technology to empower teaching, learning, research, and innovation.

Our Values Statement

MERIT is committed to creating an intentional space and culture where people of diverse identities are included and respected. We acknowledge structural power imbalances and pledge to take direct action toward a more just environment for all who provide and use our services. We are dedicated to continuous improvement in our accessibility and anti-oppression work. We seek to honor individual lived experiences, recognize intersectionality, and cultivate better opportunities for people of all backgrounds.

If you are interested in finding out more about MERIT’s Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion action plan,
contact MERIT Co-Directors Anna Lewis and/or Brenda Spychalla.

MERIT Staff

Jim Jonas

Library & Instruction Services Manager

james.jonas@wisc.edu

Anna Lewis

School of Education Co-CIO & MERIT Co-Director

anna.lewis@wisc.edu

Angie Schiappacasse

Technical Services Librarian

aschiappacas@wisc.edu

Brenda Spychalla

School of Education Co-CIO & MERIT Co-Director

brenda.spychalla@wisc.edu

Ella Tschopik

Computer Lab Consultant; Interim Helpdesk Queue Manager

ella.tschopik@wisc.edu

Kevin Tschopik

IT Consultant (Kinesiology Focus)

ktschopik@wisc.edu

Bill Weber

Instructional Technologist

bill.weber@wisc.edu

Adam Wiesenfarth

Senior Media Specialist

ajwiesen@wisc.edu

Lori Zradicka

Office & Business Manager

lori.zradicka@wisc.edu