About Us

Who We Are

MERIT (Media, Education Resources, and Information Technology) offers information, instruction, and technology services to the UW-Madison School of Education and community partners.  Meet our MERIT team!

Our Mission

MERIT connects people, information, and technology in an inclusive and engaged environment. Through reliable and proactive service, we empower the UW-Madison School of Education community to achieve innovation and excellence in teaching, learning, and research throughout the world.

Our Vision

MERIT leads the School of Education community in its efforts to discover, access, contextualize, design, protect, and support information and technology to empower teaching, learning, research, and innovation.

Our Values Statement

MERIT is committed to creating an intentional space and culture where people of diverse identities are included and respected. We acknowledge structural power imbalances and pledge to take direct action toward a more just environment for all who provide and use our services. We are dedicated to continuous improvement in our accessibility and anti-oppression work. We seek to honor individual lived experiences, recognize intersectionality, and cultivate better opportunities for people of all backgrounds.

If you are interested in finding out more about MERIT’s Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion action plan,
contact MERIT Co-Directors Anna Lewis and/or Brenda Spychalla.

MERIT Staff

Chris Dowling

Position title: Systems Engineer

Email: cdowling@wisc.edu

Jason Erdmann

Position title: Senior IT Consultant

Email: jason.erdmann@wisc.edu

Kris Glodoski Wolf

Position title: Public Services Manager

Email: kris.glodoski.wolf@wisc.edu

Jim Jonas

Position title: Library & Instruction Services Manager

Email: james.jonas@wisc.edu

Jackson Kestner

Position title: Systems Engineer

Email: jwkestner@wisc.edu

Anna Lewis

Position title: School of Education Co-CIO & MERIT Co-Director

Email: anna.lewis@wisc.edu

Angie Schiappacasse

Position title: Technical Services Librarian

Email: aschiappacas@wisc.edu

Brenda Spychalla

Position title: School of Education Co-CIO & MERIT Co-Director

Email: brenda.spychalla@wisc.edu

Ella Tschopik

Position title: Computer Lab Consultant; Interim Helpdesk Queue Manager

Email: ella.tschopik@wisc.edu

Kevin Tschopik

Position title: IT Consultant (Kinesiology Focus)

Email: ktschopik@wisc.edu

Bill Weber

Position title: Instructional Technologist

Email: bill.weber@wisc.edu

Maria Widmer

Position title: Instructional Designer

Email: maria.widmer@wisc.edu

Adam Wiesenfarth

Position title: Senior Media Specialist

Email: ajwiesen@wisc.edu

Lori Zradicka

Position title: Office & Business Manager

Email: lori.zradicka@wisc.edu